The Mortal Instruments – Cassandra Clare

 

I ADORE these books. I only read the first one after I seen the movie, a bad ‘fan’ I know, but I actually didn’t know about the books until then. In the last week I read book 5 and 6. When you start reading them you don’t want to put them down. I am an avid reader anyway, and fantasy would be a world I live in. 

These books are exciting because they mix the humans and all sorts of different supernatural beings called downworlders – vampires, werewolves, warlocks etc.They can be funny, sweet, romantic, sad, and thrilling.  Without giving too much away they follow Clary, a recently turned shadowhunter ( These are warriors as such, who protect the world from ‘downworlders’ )and her friends and family. Her struggle with her relationship with Jace, a mysterious and moody shadowhunter she met in a club called Pandemonium and changed her life.  There are so many twists and turns, I never expected anything that happened to happen.  

I think that it would be very easy for someone who liked fantasy to get lost in these books. I read through them so fast, I was hooked, always needing to know what was going to happen.

The books come in an order, and you would have to read them in that order, they are: City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels and City of Lost Souls. Today I found there will be sixth book next year called City of Heavenly Fire and I’ll admit I am delighted because I was actually sad when I finished the last one. 

Cassandra also wrote prequels, which I am yet to read these are called The Infernal Devices  and another anticipated addition to the series are The Dark Artifices, to be published in 2015.

Have you read them? Tell me about what you think!

2 responses

  1. […] The Mortal Instruments – Cassandra Clare (thelifeandliesofsarah.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] The Infernal Devices is a prequel that Cassandra Clare brought out the her book series called the Mortal Instruments which I talked about before. […]

Leave a comment